wheeler’s yard {the new cafe on the block}

Wheeler’s yard, the newest hipster cafe and bike atelier in Singapore, just happens to be around the block from me! Finally, a decent cafe in my neighborhood. However, my friends and I made the mistake of going on a public holiday, so it was incredibly busy and packed inside. We had to wait on a long line to order our food, and when we got to order our food they said it would take an hour. Luckily, the food ended up coming out right away.  We were also able to find a table inside, instead of sitting in the open warehouse (NO AC!) section.

They  had the menu on your typical clipboard and brown paper. There was a small selection of brunch items as well as lunch options. I ordered the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with toast. The serving size was pretty big and the eggs were very fluffy and filling. Probably not the best brunch food I’ve had in Singapore, but it was decent. I would want to try some of their lunch options next time, like their burgers and truffle fries.

I was just thrilled by the fact that I could walk here from my apartment, that I’m willing to overlook the average quality in their food. The next time I come,  it will definitely be during the week, and hopefully it’ll be more quiet and calm. I do think that the bike store in a warehouse concept is unique and fun. We’ll see how long it captures the attention of Singapore’s prolific and wannabe hipster cafe culture. Before we left, we HAD to take pictures outside, in front of the blue warehouse doors. So if you’re a bike lover or want to check out the latest cafe in Singapore, this is the place to be!

Address: 28 Lor Ampas, Singapore, Singapore 328781
Tel: 6254 9128
Hours:
Tue- Fri: 11am-8pm
Sat-Sun: 10am-8pm
Closed on Mondays

HK2014-0317HK2014-0304 HK2014-0307 HK2014-0310 HK2014-0311HK2014-0314 HK2014-0315 HK2014-0316HK2014-0318 HK2014-0320 HK2014-0321HK2014-0323HK2014-0322

 

2 thoughts on “wheeler’s yard {the new cafe on the block}

  1. That looks like a really cute cafe. You are so lucky to have a great cafe in your neighborhood! I come from Portland, Oregon, where we have MANY great local cafes…but now I live in a tiny city in Venezuela without any cute cafes. :( Oh well, just another reason to move on in June! Love your pics BTW!

    -Amanda at http://teachingwanderlust.com/

  2. You were so lucky. I went over there (all the way from west) and learned that they were in the midst preparing for Mother’s Day dinner. Therefore we didn’t get to order any of the main course as the kitchen is busy.

    I also did blog about wheeler’s yard.
    Maybe you would like to go over and have a look too! :)
    http://www.spectraoflife.com

Leave a Reply

