This is Just to Say…

sols_green-copy

In December, I had the privilege of meeting up with fellow slice of life blogger, Elsie. She brought me this wonderful book as a gift. Yesterday, I finally got to read it aloud to my students. We are in the middle of our poetry unit and it fit perfectly. We had just read the poem, “This is Just to Say” by William Carlos Williams in our read aloud book, Hate That Cat.

Today, I read a section from the book, where the author, Gail Carson Levine gives advice on how to write such a false apology poem. She is incredibly funny in giving specific directions on that type of attitude needed! I had my students come up with their own false apology poems and I wanted to share it with the slice of life writing community. I just love the connections we make through this writing community. Thank you again Elsie for the book.

photo (55)

photo (37)photo (38)
photo (39)

photo (41)

Slice of Life Tuesdays is hosted every week by the Two Writing Teachers.signature

12 thoughts on “This is Just to Say…

  1. melody says:

    I just read every poem aloud to my students. Oh my word, I want that book. Those poems are fantastic. Your students are so good!

  2. melody says:

    Umm… I apologize I meant I read every poem aloud to my roommate, I must have been thinking about my students when I wrote that!

  3. Maria Selke (@mselke01) says:

    Yay! I’m doing this with my fourth graders. I wrote two of my own false apology poems, and almost posted them today! How funny! I’ll probably post them next week, since I decided to dedicate today’s post to Challenger memories.

  4. aruddteacher100 says:

    Love the way you use thus poem as a mentor text! Thanks for sharing it and the students’ responses of their poems too! It’s obvious through their poems that they connected with the concept!

Leave a comment