slice of life challenge day #25: the best part

Traveling has it many perks. One of the things that I enjoy the most is experiencing a new and different culture. One of the most interesting aspects of the Dutch culture that I’ve seen during my trip is the way the Dutch travel via bikes. Since I first arrived a few days ago, I’ve been amazed by all the bikes that filled the narrow sidewalks, the abundance of biking lanes, and the double decker biking lots.

It’s been incredibly fascinating seeing how they have baby seats in the front or back of their bikes (no one wears helmets). People carry items big and small on their bikes. People bike with high heels and skirts. People bike with additional people sitting or standing on the back of their bikes. People bike in the morning and late into the night. People decorate their bikes with fake flowers and attach satchels on the back of their bikes. People bike while talking on their iPhone. There are bikes of all different sizes and models. Some bikes have fun carts In the front where kids or luggage could easily fit.

My friend explained to me that in The Hague, everyone has a bike that they use to get around the town, but they also have cars as well. The cars serve a different purpose. As I remembered the intense scooter culture in Vietnam last year during my spring break, this year, I’m doing my best to avoid getting hit by bikes.

Pics will have to come when I get back home next week! Now onto my favorite city, Paris.

5 thoughts on “slice of life challenge day #25: the best part

  1. aggiekesler says:

    Wow…I had no idea that bikes were as prevalent in other non-Asian cultures! Now you are making me want to take my bike out for a spin…:) So jealous that you get to be in Europe right now–Have a blast! Can’t wait to see your fabulous pics when you return!

  2. elsie says:

    Those bike lots are amazing, I wonder how do they find their bike at the end of the day. Some of those bikes are rigged with all sorts of contraptions. Look forward to your pics next week.

Leave a comment